Little Victories & Small Clouds

I get up at six every morning in order to be at my desk by eight. On Sunday, however, I get a reprieve. No work, no school drop off etc. I am free to lie on the lounge floor for pretty much as long as I like, assuming I’m not accosted by excitable children, keen on starting the last day of their weekend unfeasibly early. Typical then that the cat I considered briefly last night with regard to throwing out, yet still didn’t, was mewing at just the pitch and volume to wake me up and keep me awake. How do they do that? So I got up at just past six am anyway. It may be sunday, but apparently this week, there is no relief. I shouldn’t be surprised, really.

I bunked off work early yesterday and predictably enough didn’t spend this time with my wife or in the bookies or the pub or even the local lapdancing club. I’m not that exciting. Remember the post about me earlier? Average, a modest consumer of alcohol, not much of a gambler etc…

inthehouse1

So I went to support my local independent cinema (as you do) by paying to see a couple of movies at what is nearly half the price of the normal multiplex. First, and only released the day before to us yokels in the UK was ‘The Place Beyond The Pines‘. and then ‘Dans La Maison’, starring every sane thinking mans’ crumpet, the multi-lingual Kristin Scott-Thomas. Both were entertaining enough for me not to tear to shreds, so this was a surprising cultural plus for a saturday that is normally littered with nothing more satisfying than the corpses of recently abused customers and Match of the Day. I may have been forced awake at six this morning, but you know, it could still have been much worse.

Standard

Leave a Reply

